How CMMC Can Give You the Competitive Edge

by | Feb 6, 2020 | Insights

What is CMMC?

In business with the Department of Defense? If you are, CMMC applies to you! Beginning Fall 2020 organizations will be required to be audited before bidding on a contract with the DoD.

This means that every contractor or organization must be certified in order to work with the DoD. The Cyber Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) serves as a verification tool to establish appropriate levels of maturity for cyber controls ranging from levels 1 through 5.

Level 1 being basic cyber hygiene and everyday controls requiring compliance with FAR 52 controls, while level 5 is categorized as the state of the art, most advanced and progressive level of cyber controls requiring compliance with all NIST SP 800-171 controls along with many enhancements from 800-171b.

This certification will ensure only the best cybersecurity posture for the Defense Industrial Base by subjecting every single contractor to these strict cybersecurity requirements to protect the sensitive government data that they obtain.


Gain a Competitive Edge with CMMC

Although it is a requirement, from a competitive standpoint, it is very beneficial for an organization to have this certification. How does CMMC give you the competitive edge?

As stated by DoD CISO, Katie Arrington, the new approach should allow contractors to command a higher price for their more secure services. You can achieve this competitive edge through leveraging Microsoft Government Community Cloud (GCC High), managed services, and managed security services – increasing cyber resiliency, and reducing risk to all DoD customers.

Learn More: Achieving Level 4 CMMC with ARMED™ and Microsoft GCC High


Get a Head Start on CMMC Compliance

Get ahead of the game and get certified early! Smaller organizations can get a head start by implementing basic controls and simply changing certain procedures to be more oriented towards good cyber hygiene which may certify CMMC level 1 controls.

Moving forward, as an organization becomes more advanced and progresses from “basic” to “intermediate” or “good” cyber hygiene, they may move on to become CMMC level 2 or 3 certified. If an organization wants to get certified for level 4 and 5, it must be at a proactive or advanced/progressive level of practice.

One way to help enable level 4/5 of the CMMC regulation is through our ARMED™ product suite. It provides constant visibility of progression in CMMC and DFARS compliance and can allow the capabilities to extend down to sub-contractors.

The ARMED™ suite enables radical transparency into the compliance, maturity, and effectiveness of technology investments across government and highly regulated industries. Request a demo today!


Cybersecurity 9/11 already happened. When will we act?

Cybersecurity 9/11 already happened. When will we act?

If you’re still waiting for a cybersecurity 9/11 or a ransomware Pearl Harbor to punch us in the gut, wake up. The equivalent has already happened. More than one, in fact. Maybe SolarWinds and Colonial Pipeline1 didn’t have the same devastating visuals of...

Your New Cyber SOC Isn’t Enough. You Need A Mindset

Your New Cyber SOC Isn’t Enough. You Need A Mindset

There were no cyber SOCs when Sun Tzu wrote “The Art of War” more than 2,500 years ago. But the ancient Chinese warrior’s old principles can empower new cybersecurity attitudes and approaches to fighting our newest wars in the digital realm. And make...

Why DIB Companies Need a Managed Security Services Provider

Why DIB Companies Need a Managed Security Services Provider

As DIB companies navigate increased regulations and cybersecurity threats, they should turn to managed security service providers (MSSPs) as trusted advisors.  What is an MSSP? Similar to a managed service provider (MSP), an MSSP acts as a trusted advisor to your...

Share This